Researcher biography

Thea Voogt is a Lecturer in Taxation Law at the TC Beirne School of Law. She is a chartered accountant, registered with Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand, and holds a Doctorate in Financial Management.

Thea is the 2017 recipient of the prestigious UQ Business, Economics & Law Faculty Teaching Award for her innovative, student-centred, technology-driven collaborative approach to teaching the law to commerce students. She is also the recipient of two TC Beirne School of Law Teaching Awards (2017 and 2016) and is known as an inspiring teacher.

Her research interests are focuses on two areas. First, corporations law, corporate governance and the duties, roles, responsibilities and skills of directors with a distinct focus on listed companies. Second, Income Tax Law, where her research focuses on challenges for small businesses, tax compliance generally, the application of technology in the context of tax compliance, and the taxation of discretionary trusts. She currently holds two research grants focused on the taxation of discretionary trust. Thea supervises postgraduate and LLB students in the areas of corporations law, governance and tax.

Thea is a member of The Trust Project: Accountability in the Digital Age - A collaborative project between Monash University, Queensland University of Technology and The University of Queensland.

Prior to joining the University of Queensland, Thea was a Professor in Accounting and the CEO (Principal Officer) of the superannuation funds of the University of Johannesburg, and managed large tenders for the institution. Over her career in South Africa, she was closely involved with the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants as researcher, presenter, guest speaker, umpire and question setter for the national qualifying exam for chartered accountants. She also held a ministerial appointment to the Board of the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA), and served on the board of the South African Accounting History Centre.